Tissot takes first and second place in competition

no thumb

Tissot clinched the winning spot and second prize too in the Classic – Enterprise category of the International Timing Competition. This is not the first time the brand has won the competition division.

The prizes of the International Timing Competition were awarded on Thursday evening at the Time Museum of Besançon, and celebrated precision perfection and expertise in watchmaking, specifically in contemporary mechanical timing.

Tissot had previously been awarded first place in 2011 for the Classic – Enterprise category. This year, the brand proved itself again as an expert in its field by winning it once more, in addition to also receiving the second place accolade. Both of the acclaimed watches were from the Tissot T-Complication collection.

Story continues below

The judging process for the competition comprised scientific, technical and cultural procedures that were carried out in official certified laboratories of Besançon’s Observatory and by the Contrôle Officiel Suisse des Chronomètres (Swiss Official Controlling of Timing) in Bienne. The watches were also exposed to particularly tough magnetic fields and shocks at the Haute Ecole Arc in le Locle. The Enterprise categories included Ecole, Classic and Tourbillons.

Tissot’s winning watch, derived from the Tissot T-Complication collection, is said by the brand to capture both its innovation and traditional watchmaking talents and to be symbolic of the Tissot classic range. The second prize was awarded to a piece that derived from the same collection.

Tissot president Francois Thiébaud said: "Receiving this award is a great honor for us. It confirms a know-how developed over multiple centuries, which allows the Swiss watchmaking industry to excel. We would like to thank everyone that contributed to that success, within Tissot, the Swatch group and within other contributing enterprises."

Tissot is celebrating its 160 year anniversary this year.

Leave a Response

Tags : tissot
Staff Writer

The author Staff Writer